About Us

Our garden club was founded in 1974 by Alma Lee to pursue her interest in gardening. Our success is based on the efforts of dedicated members who support each other to achieve our goals. Together, we continue to grow in both membership and scope.


Rancho Bernardo, San Diego, California

The Bernardo Gardeners Club is affiliated with the National Garden Clubs, Inc. (NGC), Pacific Region and the California Garden Clubs, Inc. (CGCI), Palomar District. The NGC is composed of 50 state garden clubs and the national capital area. In addition to California, the Pacific Region is comprised of Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington. The NGC sets the standards of excellence for all the clubs.

We belong to the CGCI, which is an affiliate of NGC. CGCI has over 21,000 members, 350 garden clubs, associate clubs, plant societies and youth groups. Palomar District is one of 28 districts in the CGCI family and has 29 clubs, five affiliates, and over 2,400 members in San Diego and southern Riverside Counties, the largest district in the state. Palomar members make up 10% of state membership. These clubs have similar objectives and all are non-profits.

2020-2021 Executive Board

Bernardo Gardeners Club

July 1, 2020

Co-Presidents: Judy Fizzard, Eletha Norling

First Vice President: Cathleen Cervin

Second Vice Presidents: Linda Freithaler, Diane Scharar

Treasurer: Maureen Hons

​Recording Secretary: Sylvia Ginsberg

Bernardo Gardeners

Past Presidents

1974-75 Alma Lee

1975-76 Myrtle Helm

1976-77 Beulah DuSelle

1977-79 Eileen Woodburn

1979-80 Violetta Daniele

1980-81 Lou Ann Unger

1981-82 William Ginsberg

1982-83 Mary Beistline

1983-84 Agnes Enyeart

1984-86 Eileen Woodburn

1986-87 Betty Cooper

1987-89  Rudi Fugate

1989-91 Helen Andrews

1991-93 Elizabeth Smith

1993-96 Maxine Schimmel

1996-97 Virginia Fackler

1997-99 Marjorie Rohan

1999-00 Marielle DeForge

2000-02 Donna Zimmer

2002-05 Claire Garner

2005-07 Veleta Camozzi

2007-09 Adele Kelly

2009-12 Liliane Dickinson

2012-13 Diane Scharar

2013-15 Sherry Rudrud

2015-17 Sharon Swildens

               Sharon Tooley

​2017-20 Audrey Koble

2020-     Judy Fizzard

​               Eletha Norling